Socect’s Weblog

Unsettled Thoughts/Works in Progress

Anthropology Wiki 2.0

Back from sabbatical. Back to teaching…

The Anthropology and the Human Condition (SC2218) Wiki is back in action this semester. I had to give a bit of thought as to what to do with a “legacy” wiki. I decided to archive all the old materials and creat fresh pages for 2010. Much more of the course has moved “online” to the Wiki (all the assignements are there).

One innovation this term: I’ve asked all the students to use anonymous nicknames for the wiki. The idea is that everyone should feel free to contribute or comment without “losing face”. They give me (or their tutor) their nickname, so they get credit for their contributions. But they are otherwise anonymous; or at least relatively so.

Interestingly, an article just came out in the Chronicle of Higher Education about Wikis in the Classroom in Singapore. (Mike Wesch brought it to my attention… Thanks Mike!) It is pretty good and an interesting article. But I think it is much too sterotyped and sweeping in its generalizations about “Western” and “Eastern” (Asian) students. For example, it makes the claim that Asian students are particularly reluctant to edit each other’s work. I doubt very much (and Mike agreed, from experience) that American students would be much more enthusiastic about doing so. Still in all, the Chronicle article is well worth a read.

September 10, 2010 - Posted by | Teaching

3 Comments »

  1. Well, Prof Eric (I came across your blog from the SC2218 Wiki while doing some rather last-minute additions — apparently I am quite loquacious today!), I am an Asian student and I just viciously edited a couple of pages and wrote a rather heated reply to a commentary… AND I’m a girl! :D So here we are — hopefully debunking stereotypes of the shy, retiring Asian woman…

    I am very much enjoying this module so far and thank you for exposing me to so many perspectives about – and through – anthropology.

    -Kel

    Comment by Kel | September 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Haha… that’s great Kel. Keep smashing those stereotypes.

      Comment by socect | September 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. It’s actually a great and useful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you shared this helpful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Comment by excellent | April 6, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

